Copt Heath Golf Club


Course Status

Course Open No restrictions Enjoy your round Updated: 30th May 2024

The Peter McEvoy Trophy 

The 2022 Tournament will be held on Thursday 1st September and Friday 2nd September.

Peter McEvoy OBE

Peter McEvoy is one of the finest British amateur golfers of all time.  He was born on 22nd March 1953 and joined Copt Heath aged 13.  He remains an Honorary Member to this day, regularly playing in Club competitions.

Peter won the the Amateur Championship in both 1977 (Ganton) and 1978 (Royal Troon) and the English Stroke Play title in 1980.  In 1978 he played all four rounds at The Masters and remains the last British Amateur to make the cut in this famous Major.   He was also the leading amateur, winning the Silver Medal, in both the 1978 (Canoustie, 39th) and 1979 (Royal Lytham & St. Annes, 17th) Open Championships. 

He is England's most capped amateur golfer.  He also represented Great Britain & Ireland (GB&I) five times in both the Walker Cup (1977-79-81-85-89) and Eisenhower Trophy (1978-80-84-86-88).  In 1988 GB&I won the World Amateur Team Championship and Peter was the Individual Champion.    

Peter subsequently enjoyed huge success as a Team Captain, leading GB&I to famous wins in both the Eisenhower Trophy (Santiago, Chile, 1998) and Walker Cup (Nairn, 1999 and Sea Island, Georgia, 2001 - both by a 15-9 scoreline). He continues to work closely with the R&A as Chairman of the GB&I Boys Selectors and also manages the GB&I Jacques Léglise Trophy team.   

In 1978 he received the Association of Golf Writers' Trophy for his contribution to European golf. In 2003 he was awarded the OBE by HM Queen Elizabeth II for services to golf.  In 2009 he received the Association of Golf Writers' Award for his outstanding services to the game.    

The History Of The Peter McEvoy Trophy 

The 2021 Tournament was held on Wednesday 25th and Thursday 26th August.

The Results were:   2021 Tournament.

The 2022 Tournament will be held on Thursday 1st September and Friday 2nd September.

Following his Amateur Championship victories the Club invited Peter to suggest a way in which we may commemorate his achievements.  He suggested a 72 hole competition for Under 18 junior boy golfers, to be held annually at Copt Heath.

Starting in 1981, the competition was originally held in August but in 1985, at the request of the English Golfing Union (EGU), it was moved to April.  This was to assist them with the selection of the England Boys’ team ahead of the various National and European Championships held later in the season.

The McEvoy has become the traditional curtain raiser to the boy's golf season and is now viewed as one of the “must enter” junior major competitions.  The best junior players from across GB&I can therefore be guaranteed to be seen in Solihull every year.  Annually, there are far more entrants than we are able to accommodate and thus there is a ballot based on handicap. Since 2000, the cut-off handicap has reduced annually from 1.7 (2001) to 0.1 (2014), which illustrates the excellence of the players now coming through, many of whom have handicaps of between +2 and +4.

In 2013 Justin Rose became the first McEvoy Trophy winner to go on and secure a Major Championship - the US Open at Merion GC. 

Notable Past Winners:

1983  Peter Baker - Walker Cup, Ryder Cup, European Tour
1991  Lee Westwood - Ryder Cup, Winner European Tour Order of Merit
1992  Brian Davis - Walker Cup, USPGA Tour
1993  Steve Webster - European Tour  
1998  Justin Rose - Ryder Cup, 2013 US Open Champion, Olympic Gold Medal 2016
2004  John Parry - Walker Cup, European Tour
2006  Luke Goddard - Walker Cup
2008  Stiggy Hodgson - Walker Cup
2011  Nathan Kimsey - Walker Cup
2012  Gavin Moynihan - Irish Amateur Champion 2012, Walker Cup

For more infomation please follow this link to Golf Bible 

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.